10 Reasons Why You Should Date a Medical Student

It is difficult to maintain a relationship while in medical school.  I am certainly not arguing with that.  There are times when school has to come before almost everything else, which means sometimes celebrating your anniversary might have to wait a week until your significant other is done with an exam.  But despite the apparent difficulties, I think there are many perks to dating a medical student, so I thought I would share them with you today.  Just so you know, this list was approved by Pierre, my slavishly devoted French boyfriend, so you know it must be true.

1)  We will give you amateur medical advice.

doctorwho

That mole on your back?  Probably cancer.  Or just a freckle.  Honestly, we don’t know.  But we will tell you our opinion anyway.

2)  We will inform you every time we see a medical inaccuracy while watching television.

wrong-scrubs

Did you like Grey’s Anatomy?  Then I will apologize in advance for yelling at the TV every time they do something medically inaccurate.  Scrubs is the only exception.

3)  We are easy to please.

 

Food is one of my favorite parts of the day.

Food is one of my favorite parts of the day.

If I come home and there is dinner on the table, its the same as if you took me out to a 5 star restaurant.  If you do the dishes after then I will probably marry you.

4)  If you are dating an osteopathic medical student, you get periodic massages.

cat

Yes, we call it “osteopathic manipulation,” but that is really code for “my back hurts, will you fix it for me?”

5)  We are super funny.

Intussusception

vestibulocochlearnerve

esophagus

I’m seriously hilarious.  You are welcome.

6)  We will help you stick to your diet.

grosssimba

Trying to loose that last 5 pounds?  I’ll talk to you about cadaver lab during dinner–you won’t want to eat anything.  Wanna hear about the time I scooped fecal material out of my cadaver’s intestines?  The time someone accidentally flicked a glob of fat down my shirt and it got in my bra? What about medical conditions like anal-vaginal fistulas?  Take your pick–I’ve got more.

7)  We will challenge you (in a constructive way).

 challenge

In case no one has told you, it is boring to date someone who doesn’t challenge you.  No worries about that if you date a medical student!  You will constantly be learning new things–besides, we are pretty passionate about our interests which tends to be infectious.  And feel free to challenge us as well–we are excited to learn about the things that interest you, too.

8)  Your parents will love us.

 good-job44

Seriously, we are so much better than that artist/musician/English major your brought home last Christmas.  There was an audible sigh of relief when you introduced us to your family.

9) We have good listening skills.

"And how does that make you feel?"

“And how does that make you feel?”

Our professors are desperately trying to imbue us with a good “bedside manner”, and we will practice these skills on you.  Oh, you are frustrated with me? When did this frustration start? Has anything made it better or worse?  If you had to describe your symptom with a number on a scale of 1-10 (1 being yogi level zen and 10 being lifetime movie murder special), how would your rate your frustration?

10)  Intelligence is attractive.

brain

 This reason needs no explanation.  Intelligence is incredibly attractive.  Period.  End of discussion.

 

So there you have it, folks.  Ten whole reasons why dating a medical student is the way to go. You’d better run out and snatch up a medical student now, because we are a hot commodity.

Leave a Reply

